Writer's Block: Jumped the shark
Aug. 19th, 2011 09:47 am[Error: unknown template qotd]
THE OFFICE.
End this show already. Put it out of its misery. No one learns here in the States. No one. To television executives, if a show is doing well then more is more and more is better and more is profit. No one cares whether or not it makes sense anymore! Just let it go on and on and on forever until everyone's sick of it.
This could be said of going in the opposite direction too. Let's have a great show with a great premise and cancel it after one season because we really need to make room for that one show that's been on the air too long and doesn't make sense anymore.
UGH.
And you know what? The CW -- I'm looking at you for being the frontrunner in this. One Tree Hill, Smallville, 7th Heaven, etc. Stop it. The franchise series like the CSIs and L&Os I can give a pass to only because they're changing lead stars so often that it's like watching entirely new shows. Scripted episodics for a series? Stop it.
THE OFFICE.
End this show already. Put it out of its misery. No one learns here in the States. No one. To television executives, if a show is doing well then more is more and more is better and more is profit. No one cares whether or not it makes sense anymore! Just let it go on and on and on forever until everyone's sick of it.
This could be said of going in the opposite direction too. Let's have a great show with a great premise and cancel it after one season because we really need to make room for that one show that's been on the air too long and doesn't make sense anymore.
UGH.
And you know what? The CW -- I'm looking at you for being the frontrunner in this. One Tree Hill, Smallville, 7th Heaven, etc. Stop it. The franchise series like the CSIs and L&Os I can give a pass to only because they're changing lead stars so often that it's like watching entirely new shows. Scripted episodics for a series? Stop it.
no subject
Date: 2011-08-19 05:10 pm (UTC)Personally, I think Supernatural should have ended at S5. This summer I've mostly passed on S6 reruns, even when I'm home and nothing else is on. But it keeps going because it's a money maker.
Cheers, Seinfeld, MTM, all the great shows that went out on top. Bad endings ruin a reputation.
no subject
Date: 2011-08-19 05:16 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-08-19 08:59 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-08-19 05:24 pm (UTC)The Office is over for me after this year. I had to really struggle just to keep up for the last 2 seasons, and I feel like everything I loved about Jim & Pam (as individual characters) is kind of gone. It should have been a 5 year show. That would have been perfect.
no subject
Date: 2011-08-19 08:17 pm (UTC)btw- I had a dentist appointment yesterday and the hygienist TOTALLY reminded me of your Mom (even though I know she is a dentist not a hygenist).
no subject
Date: 2011-08-19 09:07 pm (UTC)Seinfeld . . . yeah, that ended badly, but I liked the CYE Seinfeld bit. I don't even remember how Cheers ended, but Cheers! I still believe that Cliff Claven is one of the best tv characters ever. "It's a beet . . . it's a rutabega . . . it's a beetabega!" BWAHAHAHAHAAAA!!!